How I Taught Myself To Code And Built My Startup In 2 Weeks

WHY

To empower myself and inspire others to empower themselves. I’ve always believed that with determination and the will to win, you can accomplish anything.

Six months ago, I set out to teach myself how to code. I had never written a single piece of code in my life, and from what I was hearing, learning to code was not going to be a walk in the park. But I was determined to empower myself with the skills I needed to bring my ideas to life. And quite frankly, I grew tired of reading TechCrunch, Business Insider, Mashable and other tech sites about how everybody and their momma were starting startups and building things. I thought to myself, “If they can do it, so can I. And I will”. And I did.

HOW

With blood, sweat and tears. I must say, teaching myself to code, learning from videos and online tutorials was extremely challenging. I got distracted easily and often became unmotivated. I’m a “learning with people, in a collaborative environment” type of person. But I pushed on. I had a goal, and I was determined to stick to it. I was determined to build my idea.

I used a combination of free stuff online to learn Ruby. First, I signed up and started using Codeacademy. It was pretty helpful and simple, and gave me a pretty good beginner’s understanding of how code works. I also watched tons of video on Lynda.com. I found that watching video is by far the best way (for me at least) to really learn and understand how to code. I would recommend it any day over just reading tutorials. I also became very familiar with StackOverflow. I had read about the site before, but never knew how valuable and amazing it was until I found myself on the site everyday, asking for help. Today, the site is literally my best friend. The Ruby community is so helpful and amazing and if you plan on learning how to code, I would highly suggest learning the Ruby language.

Another source that was extremely invaluable was Ruby on Rails tutorial by Michael Hartl. Learning to code is like learning a new language, and I believe this tutorial is the Rosetta Stone of computer language learning. I highly recommend diving deep into it. Last but not least, I took a coding class on Skillshare called “Teach Yourself To Code: One Month Rails”. I would highly recommend looking into taking this class. The instructor was awesome, videos were awesome and very easy to follow along. It played a big part in the development of my product and this overall experience.

After I decided that I had learned enough to build my product, it took me 2 weeks of none stop coding (and designing) to complete a working prototype. The experience has been extremely challenging and rewarding at the same time. It has given me new-found confidence and have strengthen my belief in myself. I feel empowered and inspired, and hope that you do too. Six months ago, I could only use products and websites, now I can build them.

WHAT

I’m passionate about entrepreneurship, startups and people who build cool things to solve problems. I love reading about tech startups being launched, and how they are impacting the lives of millions of people. Startup companies change the world, and I want to help them do it, starting with Hyre. The purpose is to inspire job seekers and empower startups with the talent they need to succeed. I built Hyre to make job search beautiful, more fun, effective and engaging for companies and job seekers.

If you are a job seeker looking to work at a startup, I invite you to check out Hyre. And if you are a founder of a startup that’s hiring and looking for talent, I want to personally invite you to post your company’s  job listings on Hyre:

hyreinvite

Leave a Reply

